Board Of Directors

Mr. Robert “Robin” W. Tull


Mr. Jason Waughtel

Vice Chair

Ms. Theresa “Tess” Judge

Myra Ladd-Bone

Mr. D. Van Smith

Ms. Myra Bowen

Mr. Pete Burkhimer

Jamie Fountain, MD

Mr. Reese Jackson


Ed Gallagher – Legal Counsel

Gary Hunter, DO – Chief of Staff

Outer Banks Health operates as a private, not-for-profit health system. The responsibility and authority for the management of the hospital and its subsidiaries are vested in its voluntary Board of Directors comprised of 10 members. Six members are appointed by ECU Health and four by Chesapeake Regional Healthcare. Each of the two owners, Chesapeake Regional Healthcare and ECU Health, is represented on the Board of Directors, in addition to Outer Banks residents. Members serve for a three-year, renewable term.

Executive Team

Ronnie Sloan


Ronnie Sloan received his Masters in Health Administration from Kennedy Western University in 1999, Bachelors of Health Sciences in Administration in 1990 from the Medical University of South Carolina and an Associate in Respiratory Therapy in 1985. Sloan was appointed as President in 2011. Previous to this appointment, he was the Administrator in charge of Swain County Hospital and Swain Medical Center. In addition, Sloan served as Vice President of Support Services for the MedWest Health System, a three-hospital system with campuses in four counties with 2,100 employees and 304 beds. Sloan is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. He has been appointed to the Board of Directors for The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce where he is currently the Chair-Elect. He is also on the Board of Directors for the North Carolina Aquarium. Sloan is a member of The Community Care Clinic of Dare, Healthy Carolinians of the Outer Banks and Dare Child Community Collaborative. Additionally, Sloan has a clinical background as supervisor and Respiratory Care Practitioner in North and South Carolina. Sloan is the 2018 recipient of the American Hospital Association’s Rural Hospital Leadership Award.

Todd Warlitner

Vice President Of Finance

Todd J. Warlitner joined the organization in December 2002. His previous role was director of fiscal services/assistant chief financial officer of Memorial Hospital of Martinsville & Henry County (MHMHC) in Martinsville, Virginia, a position he held from July 1989. Prior to his service at MHMHC, Warlitner served for two years as accounting manager at Alleghany Regional Hospital in Low Moor, Virginia. He earned his Bachelor of Science in accounting from Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University (VA Tech) in 1984. Warlitner is a certified public accountant and a Chartered Global Management Accountant, and a member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and the North Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants. He currently serves as chairman of the board of Tidewater Area Central Hospital Laundry, Inc.; member, United States Coast Guard Auxiliary; and power boat captain, Martin’s Point Yacht Club, and is a member of the Outer Banks Repeater Association.

Marcia Bryant

Vice President, Clinical Operations

Marcia Bryant earned her Bachelor of Science in nursing from UNC Greensboro and her master’s in nursing from East Carolina University. She was appointed chief nursing officer in 2015, and brought nearly 30 years of nursing experience to the role. Leadership posts included director of cardiac services for Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta and administrative supervisor for Emory University Orthopedics and Spine Hospital. She has also held nursing leadership roles in North Carolina, at Mission-St. Joseph Health System in Asheville, and at what is now Vidant Medical Center in Greenville. Bryant serves on the Outer Banks Dementia Task Force and led our hospital to be the first dementia friendly hospital in the state.

Amy Montgomery

Senior Administrator Of Operations

Amy Montgomery holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Nutrition and Dietetics and a Master’s Degree in Health Promotion from East Carolina University. Formerly the hospital’s Director of Community Outreach, Montgomery assumed the role of Senior Administrator of Operations role in 2015. Montgomery is a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. She is an established leader in our community. As the former health education supervisor for the Dare County Department of Public Health, Montgomery started the Miles of Smiles Mobile Dental Unit and the Peer Power Program. She also led the first Community Health Assessment for Dare County. She was a key member of the committee that started the Outer Banks Marathon and Outer Banks Sporting Events, as part of her seven-year tenure as the executive director of the Dare Education Foundation. She has served on the Boards of Directors for Children and Youth Partnership for Dare County and the Outer Banks Relief Foundation.

Lynne Miles

Outer Banks Medical Group Regional Administrator Of Operations

Lynne Miles received her Bachelor of Arts in Communication from East Carolina University and both her Masters in Health Administration and PhD in Health Services from Walden University. Miles is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Previously Miles was the manager of operations at ECU Health Medical Center where she also served as an advisory board member for ECU Health Services Management program and as the ECU Health United Way Chair. Since moving to the Outer Banks, Miles has completed the Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership OBX program, ECU Health’s Emerging Leaders program, and East Carolina University’s Teachers of Quality Academy. In 2015 she was recognized as one of ECU’s Forty under 40 leaders to watch. Lynne currently serves on the Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and as adjunct faculty at the College of the Albemarle.