Outer Banks Health is proud to announce the winner of the 2023 Horizon Award for Advanced Practice Provider of the Year, Charley Tyre, Nurse Practitioner! Tyre impacts our community each day through her passion for and demonstration of patient advocacy, collaboration with team members, quality initiatives, community involvement, leadership, and mentoring. While serving as hospitalist on the Medical Surgical Unit, Tyre’s kindness, compassion, and patience shine through in all aspects of her work.

Watching Tyre care for patients is inspiring and makes those around her want to be better every day. She presents a calm and reassuring demeanor to her patients, their family members, and the rest of her team. Showing her commitment to her team as well as the growth and stability of the hospital, Tyre has been a pivotal piece to the onboarding of other APPs. She takes the time to teach, explain, and reassure. Above all, she genuinely cares for her patients, her team, and our hospital.

Pictured, left to right: Ronnie Sloan, President, Outer Banks Health; Tyre; Lisa McGaha, Director, Inpatient Services and Labor & Delivery.