Outer Banks Health is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023-2024 Community Benefit Grants Program. Grants are awarded for projects that will significantly increase access to healthcare and financial resources in our community for over 30,000 individuals in need. Since the program began in 2006, Outer Banks Health has awarded over $2 million in grants to community organizations.

This year’s recipients include:

Children & Youth Partnership for Dare County – Mindfulness-based wellness programs for students and teachers at Dare County Schools and the community

Community Care Clinic of Dare – Medical care for uninsured/low income patients

Cross Roads OBX Association – Support a Peer Support Specialist Program to assist those struggling with substance abuse

Dare Arts – Expand the Power of Art programs for those affected by cancer and expand offerings to underserved populations to promote interaction, creativity, and mental health

Dare County Health Department’s Breaking Through Task Force – Public awareness and education campaign to reduce the stigma related to behavioral health

Dare County Health Department’s Women’s Health Programs – Prenatal ultrasounds and breast cancer diagnostics for underserved women in Dare County

Dare County Transportation – Transportation of patients to medical care appointments

Food for Thought – Provide weekend meal bags and grocery store gift cards for children and families experiencing financial stress and food insecurity

Interfaith Community Outreach – Medical assistance and crisis intervention

NC MedAssist – Free pharmacy services shipped directly to patients’ homes


Outer Banks Health, located in Nags Head, North Carolina, offers a wide range of inpatient and outpatient services. A joint venture between ECU Health and Chesapeake Regional Healthcare, the hospital opened in March 2002. The hospital’s mission is to enhance the quality of life for the residents and visitors of Dare County and the surrounding region by promoting wellness and providing the highest quality health care services. For more information, visit www.OuterBanksHealth.org.


Pictured, Left to Right: Ronnie Sloan, President, Outer Banks Health; Jenniffer Albanese, Executive Director, Interfaith Community Outreach; Natalie Mead, Chair, Community Benefit Grants Committee; Tess Judge, OBH Board Member and Committee Member; Ann Kaplan, Board Secretary, Food for Thought; Debbie Dutton, Public Health Nursing Manager, Dare County Health & Human Services; Michelle Wagner, Public Health Education, Dare County Health & Human Services; Tim McKeithan, Committee Member; Kahla Hall, Director of Community Benefits, ECU Health Foundation; Kelly Fleming, Health Education and Outreach Supervisor, Dare County Health & Human Services; Sara Sampson, Executive Director, Children & Youth Partnership for Dare County; Jennifer Schwartzenberg, Director, Community Outreach and Development; Radcliff Hester, Transportation Program Supervisor, Dare County; Michelle Alexander, Program Director, Dare Arts; Lyndsey Hornock, Program Assistant, Community Outreach and Development.